Today I am happy to be Negative! Negative for cancer that is!!

Standard

Friday evening I got the long-awaited phone call. As I lay in bed buried in a pile pillows and a oxy to take the edge off the pain my phone rang. I knew it had to be my doctor because of the ominous unknown phone number that came up on my caller id. Once again he had a cheery sound in his voice, but this time it was for real. The second biopsy is cancer free!! I feel like I was just pulled off of death row. Now my life can get back to normal.(However, I still will dream of those magical boobs that are in a far off land, I can still have reconstruction via my insurance company lol, but not for a while my body is a hot mess from all of the surgeries.) I just can’t believe the amount of pain I am in from this. My surgeon said he did have to go in deep, and I did also had the other biopsy last week. My poor beat up boob, it might as well be a pinata at a 7 year olds birthday party with all the abuse its taken over the past few weeks! Except mine is filled with scar tissue and bumps not candy and noise makers.

Ok, this pinata is def not for a 7 year olds birthday party. However with me and my friends this would be perfect to beat the hell out it to celebrate breast cancer awareness month!

But is your life ever “normal” after having cancer?? Will I always live with the fear of is it back? When will it be back? Do I have it again and just don’t know it yet? Has it matastsized?I feel like for the rest of my life I will be on the edge of my seat when it comes to my breast health. I know these questions resonate with other survivors, but how do u get over it? I just feel like that damn “C” word will be hovering over my shoulder,always. And every now and then just for shits and giggles it will rear its ugly head just for attention. Just when you are happy and feel healthy, along it comes just to let you know its there ,and there will always be that slight possibility of it coming back. However, I am a fighter, I have won this round and won my title of “survivor”. I plan to keep it that way! DON’T MESS WITH ME CANCER, I HIT BACK!!

About chemobrainandmore

My name is Heather and I am now 39 yrs old living at the Jersey shore. I was diagnosed Jan 2011 with stage II A breast cancer right after my 36th birthday. Sadly I was married for just a year at the time.I had four rounds of chemo 33 round of radiation a lumpectonly and MANY ,MANY biopsies. As if that was not enough I ended up having a total hysterectomy summer of 2012. And then this past July 2013 I under went a bilateral mastectomy and I am still under going reconstruction. I am a mom, a wife and a survivor! I have had more ups and downs then I have fingers and toes! But through it all I have had a smile on my face and try to laugh my way through it all. I have done two Strides Walk for breast cancer and I am extremely proud of how much I have raised ( I made pacesetter status!) I enjoy laughing and making people laugh, and if my blog can shed some light on cancer and make one person laugh at ,or with me ,then the fight has been worth it. Thank you for reading about my life and taking a ride with me on this journey. Feel free to reach out to me, I love being able to pay it forward and help others!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

