I am proud to say I am a Jersey girl.

Standard

As things here in Jersey get back to normal. I can’t help but reflect on how to really lucky  myself and family are that we were spared by the storm. We lost power for about 10 days and only had a few branches down from trees and lost our gutters. This is minor compared to what others have lost. We live only about 3 miles from the beach and the devastation is on thinkable.

image

I am saddened by the fact that the places that I frequented as a child at the shore are no longer there. The many beach clubs in Sea bright my parents belong to as a child have been just swept away by the ocean. But at least I have the wonderful memories of those places.
image
image
image
Point Pleasant Board Walk

My husband and I would take drives along the shore when I was sick from the chemotherapy. I found that the salt air  would soothe me as I went through treatment. And then after my hysterectomy I loved to sit in the Sun at and watch my son surf. My son was so so upset to see the roller coaster in Seaside protruding from the ocean. Every year at Easter we purchase books of tickets for the rides in Point Pleasant and Seaside. I don’t know what will be there this summer.

I know in due time it will all the repaired ,but I wonder what the New Jersey Shore look like .Would it have the charm of what once was there?? Or will it have an entirely new feeling? Either way I know it will have  something still for me. I am a Jersey girl and we are strong people!

image

About chemobrainandmore

My name is Heather and I am now 39 yrs old living at the Jersey shore. I was diagnosed Jan 2011 with stage II A breast cancer right after my 36th birthday. Sadly I was married for just a year at the time.I had four rounds of chemo 33 round of radiation a lumpectonly and MANY ,MANY biopsies. As if that was not enough I ended up having a total hysterectomy summer of 2012. And then this past July 2013 I under went a bilateral mastectomy and I am still under going reconstruction. I am a mom, a wife and a survivor! I have had more ups and downs then I have fingers and toes! But through it all I have had a smile on my face and try to laugh my way through it all. I have done two Strides Walk for breast cancer and I am extremely proud of how much I have raised ( I made pacesetter status!) I enjoy laughing and making people laugh, and if my blog can shed some light on cancer and make one person laugh at ,or with me ,then the fight has been worth it. Thank you for reading about my life and taking a ride with me on this journey. Feel free to reach out to me, I love being able to pay it forward and help others!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

