A picture says a thousand words!

Standard
image

Nice shirt!!

About chemobrainandmore

My name is Heather and I am now 39 yrs old living at the Jersey shore. I was diagnosed Jan 2011 with stage II A breast cancer right after my 36th birthday. Sadly I was married for just a year at the time.I had four rounds of chemo 33 round of radiation a lumpectonly and MANY ,MANY biopsies. As if that was not enough I ended up having a total hysterectomy summer of 2012. And then this past July 2013 I under went a bilateral mastectomy and I am still under going reconstruction. I am a mom, a wife and a survivor! I have had more ups and downs then I have fingers and toes! But through it all I have had a smile on my face and try to laugh my way through it all. I have done two Strides Walk for breast cancer and I am extremely proud of how much I have raised ( I made pacesetter status!) I enjoy laughing and making people laugh, and if my blog can shed some light on cancer and make one person laugh at ,or with me ,then the fight has been worth it. Thank you for reading about my life and taking a ride with me on this journey. Feel free to reach out to me, I love being able to pay it forward and help others!

3 responses »

  1. I enjoyed reading about your fill up. I’m 3 weeks out of surgery and the pain is so intense and doctor wants to fill in some tomorrow, don’t know if I’m ready for it or not. Chemo was a piece of cake compared to this surgery…muscle/tissue flaps from my back to form boobs in the front, I’m literally cut all the way around. If I had known prior, I would have not had this done, I can’t sleep, I can’t breathe, I can’t get comfortable, I can’t do anything, I’m in more pain then ever before, I’m on more pills now……when does it all end and get better???? Sorry for the vent, I’m just so frustrated and depressed and want my life back, this all has been going on now for over a year and i still have a ways to go. Wondering if I made the right decision…are having boobs really worth it???

    • Don’t be sorry, this is a frustrating process. And long!!! I actually think having chemo while giving birth would be easier then this lol I keep telling myself this is not the final look of my breasts. I am also try to look at it week by week rather then the whole process. Tomorrow I have another fill up soI will see what ssurprises that brings me 😉 anytime you need to vent just reach out! I tell people I don’t mind d hearing about their crap because it keeps my mine off of mind!!! Keep your chin up xo

    • Oh and yes I to are on a ton of meds!! I was not able to do the flap, that is my plan B, because I already had radiation on my right side two years ago I have a 30% chance of failure with just the mastectomy and expander. And actually two days ago it started getting hard, so I fear tomorrow my bring bad news. If it does I will have to do the flap from my stomach. But like I said I’ll have my up date. I can’t imagine the pain you are in vs mine, I truly feel for you. Just try to remember anything worth having is not without some pain some where, and your life is worth it!!!

Leave a Reply

