Two months post op, and the surprises just keep on coming!

Standard
image

I wish my surprise was this cute!!

Thursday I got my second fill up. Like I said before ,it was pretty rough. Friday at dinner my husband noticed my right fore arm was slightly swollen, and I concurred. That is the side I had my lumpectomy and radiation before my mastectomy. Something is not kosher here.

Saturday and Sunday I stared to feel pressure and almost like a carpel tunnel feeling in my hand all the way up to my shoulder. First thing comes to mind…lymphadema! Crap! I don’t want to look like the elephant man. How can this be??? My sentinel node was removed two years ago!!! Then my mind goes to over drive. Its a blood clot, I just know it! Its gonna break off and go to my lungs and or heart and that will be it!! I’m convinced its a post op blood clot. Note to self…

YOU DUMMY!! STOP READING WEB MD,YOU ARE NOT A DOCTOR NOR DO YOU PLAY ONE ON TV!!! AND NO, YOU DID NOT STAY AT A HOLIDAY INN LAST NIGHT!!

image

So I figured I better call my plastic surgeon. He believed since it didn’t look like (elephantiasis, my words not his) and I’m not in excruciating pain, its more then likely lymphademia. Wrap it up, elevate it and call my oncology surgeon in the morning
image

I’m glad its not a ER visit. It just sucks for this to develop now. I know there is not much that can be done but lymphatic massage and compression.( maybe the massage will be relaxing????) Well maybe my swollen arm will take the attention away from the fact that I’m boobless lol! Gotta find some positive out of this 🙂

About chemobrainandmore

My name is Heather and I am now 39 yrs old living at the Jersey shore. I was diagnosed Jan 2011 with stage II A breast cancer right after my 36th birthday. Sadly I was married for just a year at the time.I had four rounds of chemo 33 round of radiation a lumpectonly and MANY ,MANY biopsies. As if that was not enough I ended up having a total hysterectomy summer of 2012. And then this past July 2013 I under went a bilateral mastectomy and I am still under going reconstruction. I am a mom, a wife and a survivor! I have had more ups and downs then I have fingers and toes! But through it all I have had a smile on my face and try to laugh my way through it all. I have done two Strides Walk for breast cancer and I am extremely proud of how much I have raised ( I made pacesetter status!) I enjoy laughing and making people laugh, and if my blog can shed some light on cancer and make one person laugh at ,or with me ,then the fight has been worth it. Thank you for reading about my life and taking a ride with me on this journey. Feel free to reach out to me, I love being able to pay it forward and help others!

6 responses »

  1. Hi there! I just got reading through a few of your posts and I had a quick question. I am involved in the cancer community and was hoping you could email me back when you get the chance. Thanks! – emilywalsh688(at)gmail.com.

    Emmy

    • Thanks for thinking of me. Well i have lymphedema. However over the past few days I have been doing more exercises for my arm and wearing a ace bandage. It feels so much better. My plastic surgeon said I don’t have to do the PT if I can do it at home. I also learned how to do the lymphatic massage,so I have been doing that to.

      • I’m sorry about lymphedema, but I”m happy that you listened to your body and got the answers. I wear compression sleeves which are easier than ace bandages. You can get them at a medical supply shop. Just thought I’d let you know. I only wear them when i fly, but still…

  2. I am so sorry that you have Lymphedema but it is good that you were on to it straight away as early detection means you can get it under control… Self massage and exercises are a great help.. A sleeve keeps it comfortable.. Take care … Helen

    • Thank you! I’ve been doing very good with it. The massage is the thing that has helped the most. Its crazy I get it after the mastectomy and not two yrs ago with the lumpectomy. I’m just glad its under control.

Leave a Reply

