The Enlightenment of a Cancer Survivor

Standard

This is my “Oprah’s” ah ha moment (lol). Funny enough this has come to me watching Ophra interview Robin Thicke. I promise there will be no twirking here ;).

image

I finally have come to the conclusion that the purpose for all my trials and pains, is to share everything and to comfort others. I already work in a industry where empathy is huge, listening is a must and explaining things in a terminology where the lay person can understand is necessary( a huge part of my job is customer service and medical terminology ). And I am now doing this for my friends. One who had a mastectomy six weeks after me, and for another friend who is preparing to endure her mastectomy in a few weeks. I guess right now my new title to go along with mother, wife, cancer patient, survivor is now and mentor. I love sharing…helping…getting to the level with that person where you two truly are the only ones who get it. </em

” I enjoy hearing about other peoples shit… because it makes my own shit not seem so bad!”

image

I truly have always believed there is a reason things happen to people, nothing is just a coincidence. Sometimes you can’t see in that moment why this is happening to me? What did I do to deserve this? How am I going to survive??
image

The thing that has impacted me most was my ectopic pregnancy. It was heart wrenching when it happened…actually more then heart wrenching, it was the lowest of a low feeling two people could ever have. Why us? Why now?

It was a whirl wind. All in three weeks I go from pregnant, to being told I’m miscarrying. I was actually misdiagnosed! I had an ectopic pregnancy. I was rushed to surgery because I was bleeding out from a ruptured fallopian tube. All of this I mind you happened 8 months before my breast cancer diagnosis (see where I’m going with this?).
image
A year later the ectopic pregnancy saved my life. If the pregnancy continued I would have never gotten my mammo when I did. And my tumor was 98% estrogen receptor positive, that in turn would have caused my tumor to grow. So, at the time I would have given birth I could have been stage 4 or it possibly could have spread. I can’t imagine how my poor husband would have cared for a newborn and a cancer ridden wife.
image
With all that being said, I feel sharing all my “adventures in cancer” need to be told. I want to share because I care, so others can learn from what I have been through. I want my negatives to be turned into positives! And my struggles into stories of survival to share with my sisters!

image
Smile girls!!! Good things are gonna come our way!!!

😉

About chemobrainandmore

My name is Heather and I am now 39 yrs old living at the Jersey shore. I was diagnosed Jan 2011 with stage II A breast cancer right after my 36th birthday. Sadly I was married for just a year at the time.I had four rounds of chemo 33 round of radiation a lumpectonly and MANY ,MANY biopsies. As if that was not enough I ended up having a total hysterectomy summer of 2012. And then this past July 2013 I under went a bilateral mastectomy and I am still under going reconstruction. I am a mom, a wife and a survivor! I have had more ups and downs then I have fingers and toes! But through it all I have had a smile on my face and try to laugh my way through it all. I have done two Strides Walk for breast cancer and I am extremely proud of how much I have raised ( I made pacesetter status!) I enjoy laughing and making people laugh, and if my blog can shed some light on cancer and make one person laugh at ,or with me ,then the fight has been worth it. Thank you for reading about my life and taking a ride with me on this journey. Feel free to reach out to me, I love being able to pay it forward and help others!

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

