Pain, pain go away!

Standard

image

This pass week I have barely made it to my down stairs to my couch and back. This infusion really knocked the crap out of me. I remember it being bad last time, but not this bad. It feels almost like after I would give myself the Neulasta injections during chemo. All I want to know is was I unknowingly coaxed into being a piñata at a fiesta?? Because that’s how I feel… beat to hell!! And if I was, where the hell is my margarita?

image

I'll take two of those thank you!!

I’m sick of the bone and joint pain, not to mention being up all night and sleeping all day. Let’s see I got the infusion Monday late afternoon so its 5 days of this fun. Now I hate taking the percs because they mess with my stomach and the last thing I need is for things to get backed up and have more pain. I missed two of my sons basketball games which are the highlight of my week. On the bright side I only have 8 more of these to endure over the next four years yay. Also its been pretty cold out here at the Jersey shore so maybe being in bed laid up is good timing 🙂 Plus I have my good old buddy Boomer who is more then happy to cuddle up in bed with me. There is nothing like the love of a dog! He could careless I have not brushed my hair in a week lol!

About chemobrainandmore

My name is Heather and I am now 39 yrs old living at the Jersey shore. I was diagnosed Jan 2011 with stage II A breast cancer right after my 36th birthday. Sadly I was married for just a year at the time.I had four rounds of chemo 33 round of radiation a lumpectonly and MANY ,MANY biopsies. As if that was not enough I ended up having a total hysterectomy summer of 2012. And then this past July 2013 I under went a bilateral mastectomy and I am still under going reconstruction. I am a mom, a wife and a survivor! I have had more ups and downs then I have fingers and toes! But through it all I have had a smile on my face and try to laugh my way through it all. I have done two Strides Walk for breast cancer and I am extremely proud of how much I have raised ( I made pacesetter status!) I enjoy laughing and making people laugh, and if my blog can shed some light on cancer and make one person laugh at ,or with me ,then the fight has been worth it. Thank you for reading about my life and taking a ride with me on this journey. Feel free to reach out to me, I love being able to pay it forward and help others!

8 responses »

  1. I am so sorry you have this going on. It makes me sick to my stomach to read it because I can totally relate. Nothing I did could relieve that dreaded bone pain. Nothing. Mine has subsided some, but it is still not “gone” and it still kicks up with weather changes and if I over-do. Sit too long, stand too long, lay down too long, ride in the car too long, work too long, shop too long…you get the picture. One thing that used to help me was a hot bath (lots of people say use Epsom salts, I never had the strength to go and get any) – then I would dry off and use bio-freeze on my worst areas, get in my jammies, and lay on moist heating pads, especially for my back, neck, shoulders. This combination seemed to help when I could make it through the process. I know there were many days I could barely get out of the bed. My heart aches for you.

    I have actually made a natural suave concoction too – a healthy one and that is helping me now. I can send you the recipe if you can get someone to help you make it. The essential oil in it is birch oil and it’s expensive but has been helping my end of the day feet, leg, ankle pain. I made the stuff with coconut oil, vitamin E, a few EO, olive oil and beeswax something or other. Let me know if you are interested when you get better…right now I would try the bio-freeze. I am sorry girl. This is such a bummer.

    • Thanks for responding. I feel like sometimes people don’t get how much this hurts. I tried the icey hot on the lower back to my hips and laid with a heating pad.a little relief. I’ve tried stretching especially the palms of hand and feet. I hate to say its nice to know someone who understands this, but you know what I mean :). The worst are the hot flashes when I have the heating pad on lol. I truly think they should give this to people who commit crimes! No one would do anything wrong lol! The only good think is its keeping my mind off my implant surgery, although if when I see my PS thus and I’m still like this I know he will push it back. Hopefully tomorrow will be a better day. Thanks as always for your support, you have helped me more then you know xo

      • I just saw this. Sorry for the delay. I understand about the hot flashes on the heating pad – ESP with icy hot. Phew. It is awful. Could be the crime fixer after all! What did your PS say? My implant swap was the easiest surgery of all. Sort of. One thing u gotta watch out for with all of this is frozen shoulder or shoulders. I am hearing more be more of it w this crap we have gone thru. Keep moving your shoulders. Roll them. Stretch them. Move them. I ended up w this in early 2012 and it was one of the most painful things I have gone thru. And long. Avoid it!!! No joking. I hope you are ok. I know that constant pain after battling cancer can become quite overwhelming and hard to deal with day after day after day. Are u alright????

      • Thanks for the tip. I see my PS tomorrow. It’s a week and a half and I’m still in bed 😦 I have a feeling they may push the surgery back a little because of this. I guess this is the new normal I now face. I’m so over it and I still feel like people don’t get how painful this is with comments like your still in bed. I say walk a mile in my bra lol I’ll let you know what my PS says

  2. I might have already asked you this, but have you tried extended-release Claritin? It completely took away my pain after Taxol infusions. I took it the morning of the infusion and then for about 3 or 4 days after.

Leave a Reply

