1 week post op from reconstruction. The girls are born!!

Standard
1 week post op from reconstruction. The girls are born!!

They have finally arrived in all their glory! My twin girls, they weighed in at a hefty 900cc each,about 6 inches long born at 8:30 am. My husband and I are so proud. Sadly the proud father was not there to see the birth, in this case we will defiantly make an exception. The only thing is they have been keeping me up at night. I know that should be expected with newborns. Oh, we still don’t have any names, so we are up for suggestions!

But seriously the surgery went well. I had some breathing issues in post op so I had a nice cough that made the implants feel like knifes in me. This surgery was easier then the last, however I am in pain (especially my right side) and very,very sleepy. Truthfully I’m not feeling up to doing much. I am back to sleeping on my back, which I totally hate. And I have a new appreciation for prunes as a whole fruit. I finished off a bag in two days! That damn anesthesia gets me every time but this time I was prepared. Armed with Colace and bags of prunes lol.(note to self add bag of prunes to mastectomy must haves)

My PS did have to break up the capsule that formed from the scar tissue on my radiated breast. He said he had to open it by cutting it long ways, then making little cuts so it will hopefully open up and expand to match the left side. I will need another surgery for fat transfer for my cleavage. I can only describe the area there as being hollow looking. I know they will not be perfect, I just want my new normal. I wish that and the nipple could be done right away so I can mentally get through this. But I know I need to be patient, Rome was not built in a day and apparently either will my boobs!!

About chemobrainandmore

My name is Heather and I am now 39 yrs old living at the Jersey shore. I was diagnosed Jan 2011 with stage II A breast cancer right after my 36th birthday. Sadly I was married for just a year at the time.I had four rounds of chemo 33 round of radiation a lumpectonly and MANY ,MANY biopsies. As if that was not enough I ended up having a total hysterectomy summer of 2012. And then this past July 2013 I under went a bilateral mastectomy and I am still under going reconstruction. I am a mom, a wife and a survivor! I have had more ups and downs then I have fingers and toes! But through it all I have had a smile on my face and try to laugh my way through it all. I have done two Strides Walk for breast cancer and I am extremely proud of how much I have raised ( I made pacesetter status!) I enjoy laughing and making people laugh, and if my blog can shed some light on cancer and make one person laugh at ,or with me ,then the fight has been worth it. Thank you for reading about my life and taking a ride with me on this journey. Feel free to reach out to me, I love being able to pay it forward and help others!

18 responses »

  1. Oh wow, I only know the pain of 450s, so I cannot imagine what you are going through. Kudos to you, you must be one tough cookie! My favorite constipation remedies are coffee and a high dose probiotic. My body seems oddly immune to Colace. Lol

  2. Glad to hear things went well! Hope your recovery is as smooth as possible. I suggest letting Dad name the girls.

  3. Glad you made it through it your surgery and WOW that’s a lot of ccs. Good for you for being able to handle that. I only wish…..haha. Rest and enjoy some down time as you begin sliding into home base. You are almost done my friend…almost done!

    • Thanks Laura! You where right not as bad as the first surgery thank god, but I am still in a good amount of pain. I am so glad that I’m in the home stretch! I was thrilled we could do 900 cc like I said I am a big girl anything less would not look right. I have even lost 22lbs since the mastectomy in the hope of making myself look in more proportion and of course to get myself healthy. 🙂

      • Fight on girl…fight on. I went bra shopping yesterday to get a bra for the gown I am wearing in the Cure by Design fashion show fundraiser for the American Cancer Society – and even after implants, it is hard to go bra shopping for me. I went from a full C to a full A – three years ago and I STILL hate going to try on bras. Bathing suits are a also a thing of the past for me. I know I should shake it off, but it’s still just so damn hard! Glad you got some size to your breasts – that will make things better for you down the road. xoxo

      • Yea I hated bra shopping before the mastectomy lol. I found some great bras that look like sports bras the are called Barely there by Kholes they are great! No wires great support at any size and no wires! I wear two just makes me feel better but my friend who had her mastectomy loves them and they are not expensive. Now the bathing suit think is a whole another ball game, I’m dreading that! I’m sure your gonna look fantastic in the Cure fashion show!

      • Bathing suit shopping is an experience post surgery. These are all different stages we have to get through in our healing process, but sometimes one of them sneaks back up and bites me right in the butt with a fresh new sting. BUT, this too passes and I am thankful to be alive!

  4. You are so upbeat! I love your style! It sounds like you are very happy with your doctor and the results. I too am a “big girl”, only lost FOUR pounds and am switching plastic surgeons because as of now, these tissue expanders look like a man’s chest. Gheez!

    Happy Birthday to the Girls!!

    • Thanks for the bday wish lol. I feel so bad that you have to deal with the issues your having. I do like my PS he was recommended by my oncology surgeon. I did have a huge issue with my first surgeon ( long story) he blew off my concerns with my new clusters of calcifications. I think people forget that you on top of being a patient you are a customer and if your not happy you will go else where. I will keep you in my thoughts.

  5. Hi Heather!
    Incredible attitude you’ve got there, you are my hero! I’ve just discovered your blog, and will be doing all the catch-up I can today. I have triple negative with no primary site and five lymph nodes affected, and have had five chemos so far. Everyone says I am really positive and funny, but I think they should be following you. Naming your little bundles of joy? Now, THAT’S funny. I hope your husband is up for the naming challenge.
    I’ll be back for sure! Keep on laughing!

    • Thank you, I’m glad I could make you laugh! As you know laughing is better then crying dealing with this cancer crap. Truthfully if I didn’t find the humor in all of this I would b in a padded room. Yes my husband is excited to name them, he’s still in deliberation. I also have 8 frozen embryos that need names to! I did ivf three years ago between my surgery and chemo. I think we need a baby naming book lol

Leave a Reply

