Three weeks post op implant surgery, I got an A+!

Standard
Three weeks post op implant surgery, I got an A+!

Last week I got an A+ from my PS Dr. Assad on healing. He really did a beautiful job. He was very happy with how the radiated side is doing. So I had my stitches removed, I didn’t feel a thing! I have purchased silicone strips to cover the incisions to help them heal. I even put them on where the drains where, for some reason they are very red but not infected. So next visit four weeks. I do have to keep a compression bra on and I have a lump we believe is scar tissue that we have been watching since I had the expanders in. I got these great bras called Barely There at my fav store Kohl’s. The form to your body and no wires. They kinda fit like sports bra so very comfy to sleep in and great if you have a low cut blouse and need to cover the cleavage.

Now the not so fun news. Tomorrow I have a MRI of my liver. Yes, it’s that time to check out the supposed hemangioma we discovered in May when I had all my scans for the mastectomy. I hope my favorite tech is there! He gets my IV on the first shot every time! Last time I was able to meditate so well I fell asleep in it! I do hate having them done but thats a part of my life now. I just know eventually I will start glowing!! Now the other thing I’m still in a lot of pain and if I could sleep all day I would. Anyone else have this? I know I have been beat up physically pretty bad (and mentally)for the past three years, I just don’t know if my body has just finally had it and needs to regenerate. I finally decided to talk to a professional because “perky” me is showing major signs of depression. I almost felt bad asking for help because I’m always told how strong I’ve been, but I guess it also takes a strong person to ask for help too!

So now that we are somewhat physically on track it’s time to get my mind on track. I just keep questioning why the first time around I didn’t feel like this. Why this time? It’s weird how trauma hits you at different times in your life.

About chemobrainandmore

My name is Heather and I am now 39 yrs old living at the Jersey shore. I was diagnosed Jan 2011 with stage II A breast cancer right after my 36th birthday. Sadly I was married for just a year at the time.I had four rounds of chemo 33 round of radiation a lumpectonly and MANY ,MANY biopsies. As if that was not enough I ended up having a total hysterectomy summer of 2012. And then this past July 2013 I under went a bilateral mastectomy and I am still under going reconstruction. I am a mom, a wife and a survivor! I have had more ups and downs then I have fingers and toes! But through it all I have had a smile on my face and try to laugh my way through it all. I have done two Strides Walk for breast cancer and I am extremely proud of how much I have raised ( I made pacesetter status!) I enjoy laughing and making people laugh, and if my blog can shed some light on cancer and make one person laugh at ,or with me ,then the fight has been worth it. Thank you for reading about my life and taking a ride with me on this journey. Feel free to reach out to me, I love being able to pay it forward and help others!

19 responses »

  1. Sometimes the part after all the fighting is done is the hardest and darkest. It’s the time when your warrior spirit is quiet and all of a sudden you realize all you have been through and that you fought CANCER. They are beginning to talk about PTSD being close to what the end of a breast cancer battle resembles. Did you see our video w Dr Lisa Carey from UNC. I remember her talking about that exact thing. Let me know if you need the link – and good luck tomo !!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    • If you could sent me the link it would be great. My oncologist said she did think it was PTSD. But my anxiety is very very bad and I don’t know what exactly I’m anxious about. Thank you for the info! Xo

      • It is! I swear its like your loosing your mind! I go back to work finally this week and I’m terrified its going to hinder me. I have a very faced pace high stress job. It maybe time to look for a new job lol

      • Or retire !! Haha. Mine is fast paced too and crazy – I am having a harder and harder time keeping up. And days like today I just am tired and sick feeling and I stay in the bed …I cannot keep up the pace like I used to. Ugh :). But you will probably do great. Lots of people are fine. I am just old and decrepit!!

      • Oh stop lol! I feel older then my age lol I’m looking forward to the new normal, whatever that will be! This second time has really changed me a lot. I really would love to work for ACS. I just love helping people. But my benefits cover surrogacy so until we can afford to thaw out our kids I’m stuck. I’m learning, ” it is, what it is”!

      • Once you are a year out from your last treatment or surgery – except Herceptin – then you can volunteer for Reach to Recovery and mentor newly dx women over the phone or in the hospital…depending on the area you live in. I think if you work for ACS you don’t get near the exposure to survivors or patients that you do when you volunteer. πŸ™‚ that’s why I volunteer for Making Strides and for Reach. I love ACS. I truly believe in their mission and how they handle donor dollars. And yes, it is what it is! I believe that with my heart and soul. But as we go through whatever it is we are going though – there are lessons to be learned and lives to be changed!

      • I so agree with you. I had all the road to recovery papers in and then my second DX came along. Right now I have three friends that I talk to often to help guide them through and Liston to their fears and cosirns. I just love the feeling you get helping someone and think that was yourself not too long ago! I love strides, I started fun raising already!!

      • Good girl. We have started fundraising and building our team too. “Like” our Primax Pink Warrior fb page and you can see what we do and how we do it – we have such a great time and LOVE what we do for ACS/MSABC. And we are just getting started…when is your walk? Ours is Oct 18. Does your team have a fb page?

      • That’s great! Our walk is Oct 19th, I don’t do fb 😦 but my stride team name is heathers ” new” rack pack lol I’m looking forward to it! I really need to do fb but with me being on disability I thought it would be a bad idea. Actually it was good I didn’t do it, today I found out three months of my long term disability was denied via my appeal. I’m beyond upset by this, sobi have several appt with lawyers and if needed I will go to the media. If I can beat cancer I can beat this!!

  2. Good luck on your MRI! Depression runs in my family, I am glad you are seeking help. I have been lucky in that I seem not to be prone to depression, but if I was even the tiniest bit, I think the whole cancer/surgery thing would have thrown me over the edge. I am two weeks out from my expander/implant exchange and I am in no pain at all. I ran 2 miles today. What is weird though is that when I had the other side done, I was in severe pain for *months*, could not sleep on my side for a good year, and was pretty much bed ridden. I have no idea why it is so different this time. Maybe because this surgery did not follow chemo? I just don’t know. I would love to know why. If I am doing something that is magically helping me out this time, I would like to share the secret.

    • Wow that’s amazing running! I’m holding them when I go up n down the stairs lol. That is crazy how each of your sides reacted differently. I’m just over the pain. I won’t take the percs they seem to make my depression worse. I’ve been trying to sit outside and get some sun that usually helps but we r due for snow tonight lol. Thanks for the well wishes, I’m gonna pretend I’m at the beach when I’m in there;)

  3. You are way to young to remember Rocky the movie about the down and out boxer but your remarks today reminded me of it. If you have not seen it I highly recommend it. But my point is this; Rocky takes a tremendous beating during a fight and between rounds he seeks support from Mickey his cornerman coach and friend. You have been through a vicious round and have more to go. Seek out your corner take a stool catch your breath. The bell will ring for the next round soon enough. Best to you. I’ve been wondering how you’re doing. Did you get the book? Take care

    • Thank you. Oh Ive seen Rocky many times husbands a huge fan. ” cut me mick!” Lol I remember in 5 the grade seeing rocky 3 in the theater lol. I will take that stool and let the Mickey’s in my life cheer me on πŸ™‚ and let me have a breather. nothing like a great movie like that to motivate you! I’m getting by as you can see, just some bumps in the road. I have not had a chance to read it, but thank you. I have told many people about how kind hearted you are doing this eBook, such a selfless act. You are also a wonderful support, your friend is so lucky to have you. And us for the unfortunate woman that will be DX don’t know it yet but they already have a angel on their side. Thanks for reaching out . Xo

Leave a Reply

