How many pokes does it take to get an IV in me? Let’s see!!!

Standard
How many pokes does it take to get an IV in me? Let’s see!!!

Ah yesssss, my favorite activity! Playing darts with my arm! Being that I only am able to use the one, it’s a hit or miss with me. I had my sentinel node removed on my right are two years ago. And I also developed lymphadema from my mastectomy which sucked so I shall avoid that arm at ALL costs.Unfortunately this time it was a total miss!

It’s like one of those bad jokes, how many nurses does it take to start an IV…..So what did it take?? Two people actually! Along with 3 hot blankets, two different tourniquets and four 22 gage needles, that’s how many lmao! I have small veins that roll and blow out. It’s beyond sad when I know where my veins are and I can tell them when it’s in the vein and when it’s gonna blow. I felt so bad for the MRI tech and the nurse they called in. They are apologizing to me as I’m apologizing to them. It could have been a comedy routine! They couldn’t believe I was joking the entire time( I had my T-shirt on that said,”Heck yes they are fake. My real ones tried to kill me.”) anyone who had that on has to have a sense of humor! I told them really this is NOTHING compared to the past three years! Plus I have a 18 gage needle eleven times in my breasts over the past four months. Really what am I gonna do be pissed, yell at them? Nope they are my own crappy veins, till death do us part or unless I get a port again lol. They where going to stop at three, I cheered them on to do number four. Low and behold after an hour for slapping my arm, even sweetly talking to my veins one stood out and took one for the team!!!!

The tech is so great at the hospital he said he felt bad because the last two times he got me on the first time( he said he didn’t want loose his reputation with me lol). I told him I will make sure I schedule the next six month MRI with him but we will do it earlier incase my veins decide to up and play hide n go seek again. Next time we will be sure a radiologist will be there and they can do it under ultrasound. I agreed it would be less interesting that way but for the sake of those who does my IV much better. There’s less sweating that way!

I have included a lovely pic of just ONE of the pretty veins that blew, it will be a lovely shade of green in a few days.( just in time for St. Party’s day!) Hopefully by then I will get the ok that the mass on my liver is not growing, fingers crossed. The one thing about cancer you learn patience. Also the pics of the puppy, well let’s just say that’s how I felt…it was like wrestling with a porkiepine! But I won lol./>
20140315-000243.jpg

20140315-000229.jpg

About chemobrainandmore

My name is Heather and I am now 39 yrs old living at the Jersey shore. I was diagnosed Jan 2011 with stage II A breast cancer right after my 36th birthday. Sadly I was married for just a year at the time.I had four rounds of chemo 33 round of radiation a lumpectonly and MANY ,MANY biopsies. As if that was not enough I ended up having a total hysterectomy summer of 2012. And then this past July 2013 I under went a bilateral mastectomy and I am still under going reconstruction. I am a mom, a wife and a survivor! I have had more ups and downs then I have fingers and toes! But through it all I have had a smile on my face and try to laugh my way through it all. I have done two Strides Walk for breast cancer and I am extremely proud of how much I have raised ( I made pacesetter status!) I enjoy laughing and making people laugh, and if my blog can shed some light on cancer and make one person laugh at ,or with me ,then the fight has been worth it. Thank you for reading about my life and taking a ride with me on this journey. Feel free to reach out to me, I love being able to pay it forward and help others!

10 responses »

  1. Oh wow! I feel it for your veins. That’s awful. But I love your sense of humor through it. That has been my philosophy, as well. And I HAVE to get that T-shirt!! Really. Top of my list now. Keep laughing. Stay strong!

    • Thank you! The T-shirt is from cafe press, they have really great ones. I have another that says I WON! And the o is the pink ribbon. I’ll take any excuse to shop! Lol I will def keep laughing, because I’ve done too much crying. Plus I look really ugly when I cry, better to laugh!! 🙂

  2. I have the same problem with my veins. It never used to bother me before, but lately, I notice that I have grown more agitated with multiple sticks. Sometimes I don’t know whether or not to forewarn the “sticker” or just let them figure it out for themselves!

    You’ve got the best attitude! 😀

  3. I’m soooo with ya…my right is awesome for veins…but I had my lymphs out on the right as well…and my left sucks….always a hit or miss…*hugs*

  4. My record in the breast cancer experience was five, for my head and neck CT: one tech, two tries; next tech, two tries, a fair amount of digging; tech boss came in and got it on the fifth. Now I have a port, so no more technicolour arms.
    I found the T-shirt on Cafe Press. When my son had childhood leukaemia, we ordered sorts there that said CANCER CUCKS! and Cancer bites, but I bite back! Maybe it’s time Mum bought one for her cancer!
    My fingers are crossed for you that your hemangioma is completely dormant. Let us know…

    • Wow 5! You beat me on that one lol. The port was a miracle, the nurse would be in and out and I would feel nothing. Sadly mine was infected all the time. And when I had it removed three months after they had to reopen it and pack it! Finds out the next summer when I had my total hysterectomy I found out I was allergic to dermabond the glue the close you with, the same glue the used on my port! I had to go to a wound care center for the 6 holes from my robotic hysterectomy hand have it removed from each one and treated for 8 weeks after. I’m the first one they said they saw an allergic reaction to the glue, I’m so proud lol.

      You are much stronger then I, your son also? My sister in law had it at age 3 and was in Sloan Kettering in NY for 3 yrs. But she was treated in 1979 so too much radiation she still has major issues. I hope he is well now! You are my inspiration! And yes its time for your shirt you earned it! Xo MRI good for now 🙂 I’ve been really depressed lately, PTSD and panic disorder is out of control so its been better just commenting the past week. I have a psychologist and a mental health coach I’m seeing. I’m also looking for a mastectomy support group. Anything to make this feeling go away. I even joined a meditation spirit guide group( hopefully I have a spirit guide, cause if I do he’s been doing a crappy job!! Lol)
      Thanks for following up with me. If I see anymore nifty t-shirts for us I will be sure to share! Xo

Leave a Reply

